Amateur radio - please read all :)

Amateur Radio discussion

Moderator: VK6ZMS

Are you interested in getting your amateur license?

I don't know how to get it
6%
Thought about it, but i'm just too lazy :)
16%
Does not interest me at all
14%
I'd love to get it, more info please!
18%
I already have my license
33%
I'm currently studying and on the way!
12%

Total votes: 49

Bonez

Amateur radio - please read all :)

Post by Bonez »

So how many of you scanner enthusiasts are interested in taking on a new hobby and learning a whole lot more about radio that you have never learnt before?

Do you have $15 to buy the book, a small fee for the examination and a spare Sunday? Have you thought of getting your foundation amateur radio license and being able to talk world wide with an inexpensive transceiver?

What about all the extra stuff you will learn along the way that will make your scanner days much more fun, building your own antennas and understanding those technical things you've never really been able to get your head around?

There was a few announcements made in this forum about the new entry level license a while back, with extremely little interest from other forum users. So how bout' it?

Please ask away if you are interested and there's a few of us on here who will most certainly be able to point you in the right direction. It's a great hobby and is really a whole lot of fun!

Cheers,
Bonez
VK6FBNZ
Zebedee
Site Admin
Site Admin
Amateur callsign: VK6DB

Re: Amateur radio - please read all :)

Post by Zebedee »

Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes!

I'm very interested and it's been on my "to do list" now for an embarrassing length of time. (At this point, Gavin will be nodding his head...)

The only reason I haven't done it yet is down to one simple reason - too bloody slack to get myself organised! :) I got as far as getting the book almost as soon as it came out... and then things stalled again...
Doug Bell (Zebedee) VK6DB
WARSUG Forum Administrator.

It is very dark.