Scanners and Receivers: Icom IC-R6
Icom IC-756
Yaesu FT-60R
Yaesu FT-2900R
Sangean ATS-909
Sangean DPR-34+

Antenna Installer

Post by Nosferatu »

Does anyone know a good antenna installer in Perth for Amateur Antenna ? I'm a beginner in amateur radio so I need someone who can help me choosing and installing antennas.
VK6ZMS

Re: Antenna Installer

Post by VK6ZMS »

What bands do you want an antenna for, how much room have you got and whats your budget ?
Amateur Radio Moderator
Nosferatu
Amateur callsign: VK6XS
Icom IC-756
Yaesu FT-60R
Yaesu FT-2900R
Sangean ATS-909
Sangean DPR-34+

Post by Nosferatu »

Hello VK6ZMS

For now, I will just want to install a dual band VHF/UHF Antenna and cable that to my room. Just like below link to be used with my handheld Yaesu FT-60R so that I don't have to go outside when I need to transmit. ( Since I mentioned this antenna I also want to ask your opinion about this dual band antenna based on the specifications mentioned in the link)

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll ... 1743wt_881

But in the future when I get my HF radio I might get a long wire installed.

Thank's
VK6ZMS

Post by VK6ZMS »

I don't buy stuff of that eBay vendor anymore as the products have been of poor quality.
Contact Tower Communications in Hazlemere and see if he can order a Diamond X50 or Comet GP3.
They cover the same bands as the one you are looking at and are high quality.
Tower should be able to sort you out with co-ax cable.

The higher the better when you mount it, if you live in the metro area 2 meters above the roof line
should be OK for most repeaters in Perth. If you want to talk simplex to a mate over some distance
it will need to be higher. I just used a TV antenna mount from Bunnings for mine.

When you get on HF try a dipole over a longwire.
Amateur Radio Moderator
Nosferatu
Icom IC-756
Yaesu FT-60R
Yaesu FT-2900R
Sangean ATS-909
Sangean DPR-34+

Post by Nosferatu »

Hello VK6ZMS