Mobile setup

Amateur Radio discussion

Moderator: VK6ZMS

WPXZBP

Mobile setup

Post by WPXZBP »

Here's a view of my mobile set-up.

I have the FT-100D connected to a Sidekick tuneable antenna. No VHF/UHF amateur antenna installed yet. There's also a Tait TM-8260 in there, supplied by FESA as I am a Fire Control Officer down here.

robbage
Amateur callsign: VK6UFO_VK6RN
Scanners and Receivers:  
Scanners/receivers
Diamond Welz WS1000 wideband handheld
Radioshack Pro 28 handheld
Uniden UBC72XLT handheld
Uniden UBC73XLT handheld
Uniden UBC330CRS desktop

Two-way
Yaesu VX-3R 2m/70cm Ham TRX and wideband RX handheld
Yaesu FT-1802M 2m Ham TRX mobile x 2
Yaesu FT-7800R 2m/70cm Ham TRX and wide band RX mobile
Icom IC-208H 2m/70cm Ham TRX and wide band RX mobile
Icom IC-706MKIIG all-band all-mode Ham TRX mobile
Icom IC-V85 2m VHF Ham TRX handheld
Wouxun KG-UVD1P VHF/UHF wideband Ham TRX handheld
Wouxun KG-679P VHF wideband Ham TRX handheld
Wouxun KG-713 UHF wideband Ham TRX handheld

Re: Mobile setup

Post by robbage »

Thanks Wes. I don't think you had the Sidekick mounted at the lunch. BTW you didn't label that other antenna.. the one to the right of the Sidekick :)
Rob
OF78WD
 Amateur moderator
Arguing with a fool proves there are two
VK6ZMS

Post by VK6ZMS »

Nice setup !
How does the sidekick get out ? It looks rather small.
Amateur Radio Moderator
WPXZBP

Post by WPXZBP »

Rob - it's not an antenna - it's an anaemometer for my home weather station.

As for the performance I could easily hear a Russian in a VK pile-up on 40m (7091kHz) this evening on my way home from the fire station. TX testing will come on a cooler day.
VK6ZMS

Post by VK6ZMS »

I think I just heard you working the Russian station.
Amateur Radio Moderator
WPXZBP

Post by WPXZBP »

Tried to - some of the VK stations are quite rude. :?
orangepeel

Post by orangepeel »