Paramedic Career Pathway

St John Ambulance (6DS), AMS, RFDS etc. Frequencies, callsigns and discussion.

Moderator: Infernal

perthskies

Paramedic Career Pathway

Post by perthskies »

Hello fellow West Australians!

I am interested in a career change from the IT field towards being a Paramedic. I have some relevant experience as a Volunteer First Aider with St John VFAS manning first aid posts at local community events, AFL matches, etc.

I have tried gaining entry with St John via the Student Ambulance Officer pathway but wasn't successful, it was very competitive and apparently over 1,000 people applied for that intake. I will certainly try again for the next intake and hopefully have more experience by then.

In the meantime how feasible are these alternative pathways to becoming a Paramedic within WA?
  • Apply to be a Volunteer Ambulance Officer with St John: best option if I wanted to remain with St John all the way. Nearest subcentres for me would be Mandurah and Pinjarra. It would be unpaid but great experience in rural callouts.
  • Apply for private providers: I have heard of Advanced Medical Support (AMS) and Advance Life Ambulance Service (ALAS) but cannot get in contact with any of them. AMS's line is always engaged and ALAS's line appears to be disconnected? Are these folks still in business?
  • Registered Nurse/Paramedical Science study: I could go back and do 3 years study, which would go a long way towards the relevant qualifications in pre-hospital care but no guarantee of employment.
Any feedback and experiences would greatly be appreciated. After treating the public at events I feel this is a pathway I really wish to pursue!
Infernal
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden UBC60XLT

Re: Paramedic Career Pathway

Post by Infernal »

There is not really any alternate pathways.

For the most part you may get away with some RPL from two of the options.