Photography & Video footage

Off topic stuff that just doesn't fit anywhere else. This is the place for jokes and rants :-) Strictly no advertising!

Moderator: Bonez

Jem
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden
Bearcat UBC9000XLT (Base)
Bearcat UBC72XLT (Handheld)
Bearcat UBC760XLT (Mobile)

Photography & Video footage

Post by Jem »

Just a question with regards taking photo and video of vehicles and incidents.
I have been an armature photographer for some years now and looking at the pics and video on this forum,
the quality of footage is excellent (even via mobile phones).

Is it acceptable to take photos and videos of incidents and people (officers, Firies etc) and then publish these photos without getting a release from the people in the footage. (I believe so long as the images are not used in a commercial sense then it is ok, but if you know more, please clarify.)

I am very interested in obtaining photos of incidents etc and would like to hear from those in the media industry (who I know are members of this forum) about and information with regards freelance etc that is available in Perth.

Would there be an opening in any capacity for phtography and video footage of fires etc in Perth.

Just a general discussion point and peoples views would be appreciated.

Thanks
Zebedee
Site Admin
Site Admin
Amateur callsign: VK6DB

Re: Photography & Video footage

Post by Zebedee »

Jem wrote:Is it acceptable to take photos and videos of incidents and people (officers, Firies etc) and then publish these photos without getting a release from the people in the footage. (I believe so long as the images are not used in a commercial sense then it is ok, but if you know more, please clarify.)
G'day Jem,

We have a policy here that photos that contain people's faces are blurred so as not to identify them, the same goes for vehicles like unmarked police cars - we blur the registration plates.