Handheld for use in both Australia and Canada/USA

For discussion of AM and UHF CB
seth

Handheld for use in both Australia and Canada/USA

Post by seth »

Hi,
I'm new to amateur radio.

I'm looking for a pair of small hand held devices that I can use legally in Australia and in North America (Canada specifically). I'll be using it while I am skiing.

From what I can tell the UHF CB channels in Australia use a different frequency to the North American equivalent FRS/GMRS. I'm assuming this mean I can't just purchase the normal 40 CH UHF Unidens from Dick Smiths etc.

Can anybody help me with some suggestions on this. I'm not sure this is the right place to ask but I can't seem to find other sites in Australia that may be able to help me with my questions.

Thanks in advance.

Seth
radiotech

Post by radiotech »

+_+
Last edited by radiotech on Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
seth

Post by seth »

Hi MIchael,
Thanks for your prompt response. I've also found a uniden KYD TK-338 at DSE, would that do the job?.
radiotech

Post by radiotech »

+_+
seth

Post by seth »

Hi Michael,
Copy and paste error there. The uniden I was refering to is UNIDEN 92XLT VHF/UHF Scanner.

Anyways the KYD looks like it would do the trick. I'll try and hunt around for one, any suggestions where?
radiotech

Post by radiotech »

+_+
seth

Post by seth »

Hi Michael,
Now I am understanding things a bit better.

I'm in Sydney.

Cheers
Seth
radiotech

Post by radiotech »

+_+
Last edited by radiotech on Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Nick
150+ posts
150+ posts

Post by Nick »