What does it mean...

Aircraft, traffic control, air services

Moderators: Infernal, Nafenn, numloxx

d3funct.q45

What does it mean...

Post by d3funct.q45 »

Hi,

Im new to aviation scanning - I was wondering if someone could help me get a leg up on some information.

I have all the frequencies programmed from other threads, but Im a bit confused as to what exactly Im listening to...

ie.

What is Perth/Melb Centre
Is Perth Departures for planes schediuled for take off?
What is ATIS?

If someone wouldnt mind explaining what Im listening too, that would be terrific.

Cheers,
http://www.chrishermann.net

Scanning with; Uniden BC61XLT.
jasonjag
Banned

Re: What does it mean...

Post by jasonjag »

d3funct.q45 wrote:Hi,

Im new to aviation scanning - I was wondering if someone could help me get a leg up on some information.

I have all the frequencies programmed from other threads, but Im a bit confused as to what exactly Im listening to...

ie.

What is Perth/Melb Centre
Is Perth Departures for planes schediuled for take off?
What is ATIS?

If someone wouldnt mind explaining what Im listening too, that would be terrific.

Cheers,
I have sent you a PM, I can explain things to you....jj
yorky

Post by yorky »

For others playing at home:

ATIS is the Automated Terminal Information Service which is a recording of the current weather/airport info. You listen to it before you take off or land.

Melbourne Centre is who controls airspace in Aus outside of normal airports I believe.

Perth Departure/Arrival is who aircraft contact around Perth airspace (and when inbound/outbound from Perth).
"VKI, NJ050 will you be attending the job?"
"Negative VKI, my desk is bolted to the floor".
WARSUG General Scanning Moderator
w0mbat
Scanners and Receivers: AOR 8200 MKIII

Post by w0mbat »

To continue the questions, why do some planes say "Heavy" after their callsigns?
EG "Cathay 171 Heavy"

--Steve
yorky

Post by yorky »