Am I hearing things?

Aircraft, traffic control, air services

Moderators: Infernal, Nafenn, numloxx

Night_Ryder
150+ posts
150+ posts

Am I hearing things?

Post by Night_Ryder »

I was just listening on my two way to jandakot tower (118.10) and I heard a mayday call go out, however it was odd as it said "mayday mayday mayday, Cessna 152, we are crashing, we are 600nm west, oh no oh no were going to die." I am a pilot and I know for sure thats not the format for a mayday call, and the position said is absurdly unrealistic, however I dont know if anyone else heard this cause I didnt hear any aircraft respond or ATC respond (YPJT tower closed). I think some idiot has gotten hold of a aviation transceiver. Did anyone else hear this?
ADMIN NOTE: Account details transferred to "Reevesy"
Toottoot
Banned

Post by Toottoot »

Didnt hear that but I live near the airport and have now got a cessna 152 as a garden ornament.
Night_Ryder
150+ posts
150+ posts

Post by Night_Ryder »

Yea I live in Brentwood/mt. Pleasant and I heard it quite clearly. The person making the call had a deep voice. Bloody idiots.
gkoutlis

Post by gkoutlis »

Without going into specifics - it was a confirmed hoax - one of the pilots flying VH-YNH - used circuit frequency to report the hoax...

I beleive the tower took it seriously so not sure what the end result was, but your right Night_Ryder - Can you confirm the time you heard it?
spartacus
WARSUG top poster
WARSUG top poster
Amateur callsign: ONEDAYILLGETIT
Scanners and Receivers: ubc92xlt

Post by spartacus »

and why would a cessna 172 fly 600nm into the ocean and just turn back again? And i doubt increasing flight time is a good excuse.
To stop displaying signatures, go to the User Control Panel > Board Preferences > Edit display options > Display signatures > No > Submit
Night_Ryder
150+ posts
150+ posts

Post by Night_Ryder »