Jem
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden
Bearcat UBC9000XLT (Base)
Bearcat UBC72XLT (Handheld)
Bearcat UBC760XLT (Mobile)

Why do you listen to a scanner?

Post by Jem »

Ok, here's a question I got asked.

I have been listening to scanners on and off for about 20 years.
I used to enjoy listening mainly to WAPOL and SJA when we could as my brother used to drive a tow truck (yes he was a vulture).
I continued listening until SJA stopped transmitting locations via voice.
I continued listening to WAPOL until they went digital.
I now listen to FESA and the Helitak(c)s.

My wife is in no way interested in what is going on unless there is a fire close to our house (because we have so many animals she wants to be prepared to move).

So she asked me the other day (as she has many times) whilst I was trying to convince her to let me put my Discone up on the roof).

Why do you listen to a scanner?
What is so interesting about other peoples misfortunes?
Why is it so interesting to you to know what is going on?

And for the first time (instead of my normal answer of "Because I find it fun") I thought why do I?

So please let me know why you feel the need or want to listen to (and in some cases act on) the information (whichever frequency you prefer) and what does it give you in return.

Thanks

Q
Zebedee
Site Admin
Site Admin
Amateur callsign: VK6DB

Re: Why do you listen to a scanner?

Post by Zebedee »

Jem wrote:Why do you listen to a scanner?
What is so interesting about other peoples misfortunes?
Why is it so interesting to you to know what is going on?

And for the first time (instead of my normal answer of "Because I find it fun") I thought why do I?

So please let me know why you feel the need or want to listen to (and in some cases act on) the information (whichever frequency you prefer) and what does it give you in return.
Good question and probably one that a number of us have either been asked, or have asked of ourselves at one point or other.