unknown new toy

What scanner to buy? What's the best antenna to use? Programming? Ask here!

Moderator: Always RX

dxermouse
Scanners and Receivers: yaesu vx-8dr

unknown new toy

Post by dxermouse »

Hi everyone im a newbie here and to amateur radio so im not sure if I have posted this in the right area so please bare with me.

Ive received an xmas gift which is a yaesu vx-8dr transceiver. After some google searching and me being confused I ended up here.
My problem is I dont know what I have been given, I have no idea what it is used for, how to use it or what it does, even if I read the manual I have no idea what they are talking about of course I can press the buttons and do what the manual says to get things done but I dont know what the heck it is they are doing or trying to get me to do?

Are there any people, clubs or places in perth that I can goto where someone can show me what it is used for and how it is supposed to be used etc.

looking to hear from anyone who can help
thanks in advance for your replies.
robbage
Amateur callsign: VK6UFO_VK6RN
Scanners and Receivers:  
Scanners/receivers
Diamond Welz WS1000 wideband handheld
Radioshack Pro 28 handheld
Uniden UBC72XLT handheld
Uniden UBC73XLT handheld
Uniden UBC330CRS desktop

Two-way
Yaesu VX-3R 2m/70cm Ham TRX and wideband RX handheld
Yaesu FT-1802M 2m Ham TRX mobile x 2
Yaesu FT-7800R 2m/70cm Ham TRX and wide band RX mobile
Icom IC-208H 2m/70cm Ham TRX and wide band RX mobile
Icom IC-706MKIIG all-band all-mode Ham TRX mobile
Icom IC-V85 2m VHF Ham TRX handheld
Wouxun KG-UVD1P VHF/UHF wideband Ham TRX handheld
Wouxun KG-679P VHF wideband Ham TRX handheld
Wouxun KG-713 UHF wideband Ham TRX handheld

Re: unknown new toy

Post by robbage »

dxermouse wrote:Hi everyone im a newbie here and to amateur radio so im not sure if I have posted this in the right area so please bare with me.