Which scanner for Emergency Services?

What scanner to buy? What's the best antenna to use? Programming? Ask here!

Moderator: Always RX

impdxn

Which scanner for Emergency Services?

Post by impdxn »

I currently volunteer with both my local SES and Bush Fire Brigade. My primary need is for a scanner best suited to monitor these and other emergency service agencies (specifically the WA Police). Though, I won't complain about one that is good for monitoring other things as well. I'm not sure what I need as I'm not familiar with the radio networks here in Australia.

What do I need to listen to the WA Police, FESA, and other emegency services as their radio systems currently stand?

What would I need to listen to the WA Police when there new radio system goes online (assuming it is not encrypted)?

Thank you very much!!

(BTW, I did try searching first, but it wasn't clear on which one to get)
impdxn

Post by impdxn »

BTW, I'm also an amatuer radio operator (KF4MAO) so feel free to suggest any that have a 2-Meter combination as well. (Need to pick up a 2M Radio and get back into it).

And I forgot to mention that I'm looking for a handheld portable scanner, one that I can carry around with me. The smaller the better :)
gkoutlis

Post by gkoutlis »

pdxn,

Welcome on board.

Mate - I have a fairly new Uniden UBC92XLT 200 Channel Scanner - Its definatley an improvement to what i used to have....

This also has a close call feature - which allows you (when activated) to listen to any other frequencies transmitting at that time.

It set me back around thr $280 mark from Dick Smith, but you may not need all 200 channels - try looking for a 100 channel if you wanted to....

Best of luck - let us know how you go...
gkoutlis
impdxn

Post by impdxn »

Thanks for the welcome.

Will the UBC92XLT work with the new WAPOL radio system being deployed in 2007? (again assuming it is not encrypted)
gkoutlis

Post by gkoutlis »

Not a problem pdxn,

OK - now this is Tricky :roll: