Best Scanner Icom IC-R5 or Uniden 92XLT

What scanner to buy? What's the best antenna to use? Programming? Ask here!

Moderator: Always RX

col821

Best Scanner Icom IC-R5 or Uniden 92XLT

Post by col821 »

Hi
I'm new to this so be kind to me....

Was wondering if anyone could tell me which of these 2 is the better ?
Icom IC-R5 or Uniden 92XLT.
I'm just getting into scanning so I want something reasonably cheap, but also reliable. I would like as broad a scanning range as possible as I like listening to Police, FESA and Aircraft, I would like to also listen to Rail.
I'm currently using a 20+ year old Realistic Pro 2020. So if niether of these is any better than I already have I would also be happy to recieve your advice.
Thanks in Advance.
Pty

Post by Pty »

I have an R5. I find it excellent as it's small, has good battery life and good audio. I have owned it for over 12 months now and i wouldn't have the slightest idea on how to program it as i purchased a programming cable and use the computer to set it all up which i found quite easy. So i recommend that if you purchase an R5 allow room to get a cable (about $60) and source the software from somewhere it makes it a million times easier to program.
Tyranus
Amateur callsign: VK6FWDH
Scanners and Receivers: UBC93XLT

Post by Tyranus »

I on the other hand, have a uniden 92XLT.