Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

What scanner to buy? What's the best antenna to use? Programming? Ask here!

Moderator: Always RX

Post Reply
Alex993cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: PRO-2006 w/ Optoscan 456
SDR

Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by Alex993cc » Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:30 pm

Hi All
The radio it self seems to function fine when I scan manually, I can listen to most local radio etc, manually enter frequencies, etc.

I seem to have a dead Optoscan 456, i have tried to communicate with it via serial and the "probe v7" software, and have failed.

the specs that i can find online say it should echo any characters received back to serial, have confirmed serial data is working with a loopback test (characters echo back)

I fear the unit may be broken, which would be a damn shame as I have just purchased the probe software :(

Any help, or anyone with another working unit they are willing to sell with would be appreciated.

Alternatively, If someone knows a good radio repairer locally that may be able to help? not looking for a free dinner here, paying to fix the device is an option.

I understand that there may be newer more advanced solutions (have played with SDR) but I like the "old school cool" factor of this device.

Regards,

Alex

roland985
150+ posts
150+ posts
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden EZI30XLT Scanner.
Bearcat UBC355XLT
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by roland985 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:54 pm

Have you tried resetting everything to factory preset?

Have you followed all steps in the manual?

And if you choose to switch to SDR, I'll be waiting to give you some advice.
WASES CSU

Alex993cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: PRO-2006 w/ Optoscan 456
SDR

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by Alex993cc » Fri Mar 13, 2015 6:59 pm

Roland985, Thankyou for your reply!

I will try a factory reset (it has a button on the back) but this appears to only affect the "hardware" side of the device iirc,

I have read the manual, tried the steps involvedd and it still does not connect the way I interpret it so.


I have one of the RTL8028(?) based SDR units, but like i said, I'm interested in getting the old girl to function properly along with a computer, its just more? geek? i dunno :D

Any advice you can give on SDR would be well received (pun?) haha :)

Alex

roland985
150+ posts
150+ posts
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden EZI30XLT Scanner.
Bearcat UBC355XLT
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by roland985 » Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:38 pm

The RTDSLR subreddit would be the best bet.

Try the factory reset anyway. Get it into a fail-safe default state to see if it can function.
As far as software goes, what platform are you using it on? Windows? OS/x? Linux?
WASES CSU

Alex993cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: PRO-2006 w/ Optoscan 456
SDR

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by Alex993cc » Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:44 pm

did factory reset, nothing

it runs under DOS in a VM

probe V7 software

I think the 456 board/MCU is dead.

roland985
150+ posts
150+ posts
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden EZI30XLT Scanner.
Bearcat UBC355XLT
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by roland985 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:56 pm

Is the VM accessing actual hardware, not a virtual COM port?
WASES CSU

Alex993cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: PRO-2006 w/ Optoscan 456
SDR

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by Alex993cc » Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:07 pm

Yes, i can do a loopback test on the serial port inside the VM and characters are echoed back

roland985
150+ posts
150+ posts
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 8:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: Uniden EZI30XLT Scanner.
Bearcat UBC355XLT
Location: High Wycombe

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by roland985 » Sun Mar 22, 2015 9:06 pm

Cool.

This sounds like the radio definately isn't working now.

If it is over 10-15 years old, it would be worth checking to see if the Capacitors havn't leaked. Getting them Recapped is a solution.
WASES CSU

Alex993cc
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:23 pm
Scanners and Receivers: PRO-2006 w/ Optoscan 456
SDR

Re: Pro 2006 w/ Optoscan 456 HELP

Post by Alex993cc » Sun Mar 29, 2015 12:21 am

I got it working :)

the serial cable i had marked as straight thru was actually a null modem, so signals were being mixed in a bad way, causing the radio to appear dead.

Image

now i just need to start sniffing out all the interesting channels around here :)

Regards

Alex

Post Reply